top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCora Hanson

The Rules of Chess

I feel drawn toward a firing squad,

To be the one saying forget the blindfold,

Yet I have nothing against which to be so bold.


An avalanche should be here any second,

To overwhelm, break every bone inside of me,

But I delay the melted ice to be free.


I need someone to run my race alongside,

And I already see the phantom I wish for.

A ghost who forgets my name, will I ever get more?


There must be something beyond this experiment.

Don't I already know the scientist?

Perhaps I'll never understand in this environment.


I learned the rules of chess perfectly,

Only now I've noticed it was always poker.

Gambling is draining, but with it, I find red ochre.


A sentry in the corner, noticing how people move

To the most important one, I wish I never knew

Because every time it's never me but you.




I keep making it all organized in the end.

Each number must mean something when it's penned.

Here, in the resolution, I'll let it go.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mind

bottom of page