top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCora Hanson

The Oasis

Grit attacks my face,

I smile but my lips stick to my teeth.

The oasis that I came from has disappeared,

I can only hope another one exists.

Tumbleweeds play together in the sand,

Lizards sun next to each other.

And yet I’m a grain of sand who can’t find my friend.

A glimmer rises on the horizon.

It’s just a mirage, right?

Yet as I move toward it,

I see a man sitting next to a well.

He calls me by name, yet I don’t know him.

Taking the water, I’m only more parched.

He tells me that I have a soul, how does he know?

Cupped in his hand, he says, is living water.

Closing my eyes, I drink and wipe off my face.

Horrified, I see my hand dripping with his blood.


And yet, now I can smile.

The man takes my hand in his pierced one,

Says he’ll take me to calm waters,

But I know I’m already traveling

With the most fulfilling oasis.







Thank you for reading!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page