top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCora Hanson

Until My Heart Is Burned Out

Why do you hug me like it's the last time?

Why do you smile like it's the last time you'll ever see my eyes?

If you leave me, I swear I'll fall apart.

People aren't meant to be lonely, we're meant to be lovely.

If you, my love, fall into the flames,

I worry my tears will stop the fire but find your charred body.

And what would I do then?

Crumble into a pile next to your ashes?


If you think you'll never hug me again,

Let me be the last person you touch on this earth.

If you smile because you think it's the end,

Let me look into your eyes as we walk into the fire.


Beacause I'm with you until my heart is burned out of my chest.

Whatever you're afraid of, I'll look around every corner first.

I'll stand in front of the bullets.

Just don't fight without me by your side, my love.




This poem is a free verse that was inspired by two characters in a novel I am working on. Sometimes I enjoy using a character's perspective and emotions to come up with more ideas for poetry. The first two lines are also partly inspired by a song in the musical Hamilton. Thanks for reading!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page